Utility Container

Mobile Menu Trigger (container)

Search Trigger (Container)

Above Nav Container

The Duke of Edinburgh's Award

The Duke of Edinburgh's Award scheme is open to anyone aged between 13 (starting in the academic year of year 9) and 25 and participation at any level is voluntary. The award scheme is incredibly popular and increasingly recognised by employers, colleges and universities. In Wales, there were 20,000 awards completed last year which is a fantastic achievement. 

At Ysgol Nantgwyn we offer all three levels of the Award: Bronze, Silver and Gold.  Each pupil chooses a programme that suits their individual needs and interests. Many activities pupils already undertake can be counted towards their award which means they do not need to make additional time to complete some of the award (see examples here). All levels of the award require participants to complete four sections: Skills, Physical, Volunteering which are all independent to the pupil and also the Expedition. The expedition will require pupils to purchase some kit, and are varying lengths depending on the award.

Each section requires an assessor, who must provide a report at the end for each section.  A brief overview of the levels is below.

For any additional information please see the DofE website on the following link: Duke of Edinburgh

We have several highly skilled and dedicated members of staff that support students at every level through weekly meetings, running in N51 on a Wednesday afterschool until 4.00pm.  Any further questions please contact Mr. Cross, the Duke of Edinburgh Coordinator on aaron.cross@ysgolnantgwyn.co.uk