The Leadership Team

Mrs Kirsty Retallick (Headteacher)

Kirsty became founding Headteacher of Ysgol Nantgwyn in January 2017 and spent 18 months developing and forming the school which opened in September 2018.  Prior to this, she was Acting Headteacher of Tonypandy Community College and is a Business and ICT teacher having previously worked in schools and colleges in Newport and Bridgend.  Kirsty lives in a village called Llangattock with her retired husband and two children, Seth and Emily.  Kirsty enjoys renovating old buildings and furniture, pending time with her family and holidays.

Ms Laura Morris (Deputy Headteacher)

Further information to follow shortly.

Mrs Ryan Evans (Deputy Headteacher)

Ryan joined Tonypandy Community College in 2009 as an ICT teacher. Ryan later became Head of ICT and subsequently the Head of Enterprise and Technology. He became Assistant Headteacher in 2016, secured the position of Head of Upper School at Ysgol Nantgwyn in 2018 and was promoted to Deputy Headteacher in January 2020. Ryan studied Computer Science at Swansea University before completing his Masters in Cardiff Metropolitan University in 2014. Ryan has a 3 year old daughter and lives in Talbot Green. When not in work or at home, Ryan can often be found out running!

Mrs Catherine Waithaka (Assistant Headteacher and Head of Lower School)

Catherine was appointed as Assistant Headteacher of the Lower School after a brief spell in Tonypandy Community College, via Cymmer Primary School after returning in August 2016, from a 12 year period working in an all through British International School in Nairobi Kenya. A mam of two, Catherine loves to keep active, enjoys the beach and new experiences. Teaching is an opportunity to make a lasting difference and she feels privileged to do so in the area that she grew up in.

Mrs Danielle Lewis (Assistant Headteacher and Head of Middle School)

Danielle  was appointed as Head of Middle School after working in Tonypandy Community College for 12 years.  When not in work you will find Danielle spending time with her family, often seen running after her two young, active children; Carter and Ayla.  Danielle is dedicated to all the pupils at Ysgol Nantgwyn and is passionate about helping pupils transform their lives and shape their future. 

Mrs Louise Williams (Acting Assistant Headteacher and Head of Upper School)

Louise joined Tonypandy Community College as Head of Welsh in 2013 having previously worked in a school in Aberdare. In 2015 she took over as Head of the Languages Faculty. Following her appointment as Head of the Languages faculty at Ysgol Nantgwyn, she secured a secondment to the Leadership Team as an Associate Assistant Headteacher for the academic year 2018-2019 and is currently Acting Assistant Headteacher and Head of Upper School. She was also fortunate to take ownership of the Expressive Arts faculty; forming the new and exciting faculty of Languages and Culture. This year, she takes a shared lead on Teaching and Learning. 

Louise hails from the local area; residing in Treorchy with her family - her husband and son. When not at home or in work, she can be found walking her dog and making the most of the mountains around her home. Her hobbies are walking, reading and yoga. 

Mrs Helen Higgs (Assistant Headteacher and ALENCo)

Helen joined the school as Assistant Headteacher in September 2018.  She previously worked as Assistant Headteacher leading on Teaching & Learning, Skills, Transition & Assessment at Tonyrefail School.  Helen lives in Church Village and has two sons of secondary school age.  When not at home or at work, she can be found on the sidelines at Cardiff City football academy or supporting her sons with their many other sporting pursuits.  She is an avid reader who also enjoys competing in middle distance running.  

Miss Vicky Evans (Assistant Headteacher)

Victoria joined Tonypandy Community College as Head of English in 2016. Prior to this she was the lead for Teaching and Learning in Pontypridd and a Head of Year in Bridgend.  

Following her appointment as Head of English, Literacy and Communication faculty at Ysgol Nantgwyn, she secured a secondment to the Leadership Team as an Associate Assistant Headteacher for the academic year 2018-2019 during which time she took a shared lead on Teaching and Learning and has responsibility for more able and talented pupils. Vicky secured the position of Assistant Headteacher to start in January 2020 with a lead on Teaching and Learning.

In her spare time, Victoria enjoys regular exercise, spending time with family, taking long weekend walks and planning visits to new places.

Miss Abby Daley (Associate Assistant Headteacher and Head of STEM)

Abby joined Tonypandy Community College as Leader of Learning for Science in 2015.  She previously worked in schools across Carmarthenshire and the South Wales valleys.  Abby studied Chemistry with Environmental Chemistry at Birmingham University before qualifying to teach Science.  She also gained her Masters in Education at the University of Wales in Cardiff.  Abby lives in Bridgend and has three children, one at University in Aberystwyth, one within sixth form and one of primary school age.  When not at work, she enjoys running and spending time in the outdoors.

Mr John Davies (Associate Assistant Headteacher and Deputy Head of Life, Sport)

Further information to follow shortly.

iss Emma Beasley (Business Manager)

Having worked in education for 14 years, Emma has worked her way from Receptionist to Office Manager, Finance Manager and now Business Manager at Ysgol Nantgwyn.  Emma is committed to providing professional leadership and management of the business aspects of school life so that the leadership team and wider school staff have more time to focus on the school's main priority - providing excellent education and guidance for our young people.  Outside of school, Emma enjoys running to keep fit as well as de-stress and is a mum to a very active 2 year old daughter.  As a family, they enjoy spending time outdoors but mostly at the beach!

The Governing Body

Mr Eddie Griffiths (Chair of Governors)

Eddie was the first Teacher Governor of Tonypandy Grammar School 1973-1985 when having been Head of Physics he became Deputy Headteacher of Tonypandy Comprehensive School until his retirement in 1999.  He then became Chair of Governors in 2000 of the school that became Tonypandy Community College, and continued in that role until 2018.  Eddie then became Chair of Governors of Ysgol Nantgwyn. 

Eddie has had 4 children and 2 grandchildren study at either Tonypandy Comprehensive School or Tonypandy Community College.  Besides his interest in the education of children, Eddie enjoys gardening, DIY and christian activities.

Mrs Kimberley Davies (Vice Chair of Governors)

Kim was born in Penygraig and qualified as a nurse in 1979.  She has been a Governor for 30 years, previously at Ysgol yr Eos and Tonypandy Community College and has one daughter who is a former pupil of Tonypandy Community College. Kim has been a Justice of the Peace for the last 23 years and  has a passion for working within the Community, raising funds and awareness for many issues.

CBC John Cullwick

Ms Abby Daley (Teacher Governor)

Mr John Davies (Teacher Governor)

CBC Joshua Davies

Mr Dominic Evans

Mrs Sandra Evans

Mr Tony Gallagher

Tony is a former pupil of Tonypandy Community College, leaving in 1993 to join the Army as an Apprentice. Returning home after 24 years with his wife and children Myan and Evan who both currently attend Ysgol Nantgwyn.  In his spare time ,Tony coaches junior rugby something he finds both enjoyable and rewarding.

CBC Gareth Hughes

Mrs Sheila Jones

Mr Keith Lewis

Mrs Sarah Phelps

Mrs Pamela Pritchard

Miss Allyson Pugh

Mrs Natasha Rees

Mrs Teresa Ridley-Morgan

Mrs Katherine Williams